About the doll’s house and the family.

The doll’s house was sort of the beginning of abandonments. Before the dancing couple, I was already making miniature figures of a specifically pathetic mien, to live in this doll’s house I bought at a flea market. There were a few bits of furniture thrown in including a pink bathroom set that seemed to suggest a tacky mundanity. The first person I made was a little man sitting on the loo. I thought I would have everybody in the house doing the things you’d only do in private.

The doll’s house wasn’t intended to be part of abandonments but I am planning to destroy it at the forthcoming manchester artist’s bonfire.  Naturally the family ought to perish with the house, but this would also be an appropriate way to abandon my friend Mymi, whose apartment block caught fire (arson, she thinks) when she was a small child. Mymi talked about this with me a few times. She is a very vivid storyteller and many of her memories are very clear in my mind. She is a deeply emotional person and I think to abandon her to her own fears would be a terrible fate indeed. I may also abandon my friend Matt simultaneously. Matt was quite taken with Mymi’s storytelling and wrote a film script based on her account of her relationship with her father. Matt is horrendously careless, in a way that worries me and amuses him. He walks out in front of traffic and he has been known, more than once, to set himself alight whilst cooking.

Early experiment with house, it had proper lights and the wallpaper is an OHP projection.

Bathroom

baby

About abandonments

I'm a visual artist from the UK, based in Manchester.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment